About the Library :
Sabah State Library was established in 1953 as a section under the Department of Broadcasting and Information to provide library services and information for the community in Sabah.It became a department in 1972 under the Ministry of Social Services. Today, the library is placed under the Ministry of Community Development and consumer Affairs. It receives funding from the Sabah State government and grants from the Federal government.
As of today, Sabah State Library is made up of a Headquarters Library, 4 regional libraries (KK, Tawau, Sandakan, Keningau) and 20 branch libraries. It is supported by 109 village libraries and 13 mobile and 8 internet mobile libraries known as desanet.
Opening Hours :
Monday - Friday :
9.00 am - 9.00 pm
Saturday & Sunday :
9.00 am - 2.00 pm
Public Holidays :
Contact Us :
Sabah State Library
Jalan Tasik,
Off Jalan Maktab Gaya,
88300 Luyang, Kota Kinabalu.
Locked Bag 2023,
88999 Kota Kinabalu,
Sabah, Malaysia.
Phone :
088-214828, 231623, 254493
Fax :
Email :
Official Website :
For more information, please visit